We’re still talking about the most amazing dinner we had at our house a week ago, and I just had to share it with you.

To celebrate Father’s Day, my husband decided that he wanted a seafood feast that they offer at one of our local restaurants.  It’s actually called a seafood boil. Have you heard of this? They throw a variety of shellfish into a great big pot with some seasoning, corn, potatoes, and sausage, and then boil it up. Then they bring it to your table, in the pot (after draining it), and just pour it out onto your butcher-paper-covered table, and you eat with your hands. Sounds so primal, so in touch with your food…and sooooo easy!

One of the best things about living in the Pacific Northwest is the abundance of fresh seafood available, so we decided that we would save a few dollars, and have a nice seafood boil of our own, at home.

This recipe should feed about 6 people, but you may want to adjust certain ingredients depending on the appetites and preferences of your eaters.

Here’s what I used, but you can tailor it to your party’s tastes:

  • King crab leg clusters (4)
  • Prawns (1 lb – medium, raw, shells on)
  • Manila clams (2 lb)
  • Mussels (1 lb)
  • Smoked sausage (4 whole – cut into 2″ pieces)
  • Corn on the cob (2 ears – halved)
  • Red potatoes (4 – halved)
  • Lemon (2 – halved)
  • Fresh herbs from my garden – lemon thyme, purple sage, rosemary, and oregano
  • Old Bay Seasoning

Be sure to first rinse all of your shellfish really well, to remove any sand, then fill the largest stock pot you have with water about 3/4 full – I had to use two!

Then add the cut lemon, just give it a little squeeze, and the fresh herbs. I used a variety of what I had in my herb garden.

Sprinkle in some Old Bay Seasoning. I used 1/2 a bottle for each of my two stock pots.

Bring the water to a boil.

Add potatoes cut in half …

and  the sausage, cut into quarters.

Boil for 10 minutes.

Add ears of corn, broken in half.

Boil for 10 minutes.

The gently toss in the mussels and the clams…

and the crab legs and shrimp.

Boil for another 5 minutes. ( I actually had to remove everything from my pots and add the crab and shrimp – I ran out of room!)

 

Drain, and pile it in the center of your butcher paper covered table, or in large bowls family style.

Serve with some individual cups of melted butter for dipping, and hunks of crusty french bread to mop up the juices!

 

Enjoy! If you try this recipe at home, I would to hear how it goes!

 

