Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This blog is all about comfort. And when I write about food (which I do frequently!) that translates into “comfort food”. Now, many of you probably don’t typically think of salad as comfort food, but I am here to tell ya! There is one salad dressing could change all that. Think – bacon…and the most understated dressing of them all…the vinaigrette.

With bacon.Yep.

Gourmondo Catering is a full service caterer in Seattle offering extremely tasty box lunches, lunch buffets and custom catering. They use organic ingredients whenever possible and partner with many local, small vendors to assure the highest level of quality, sustainability and variety at affordable prices.

Oh my! Look at those desserts! These sandwiches are also quite tasty…

But what was surprising to me when I first had Gourmondo was that the best part of the meal was the salad! As excellent as their catering is, the best little-known secret is that Gourmondo is increasingly becoming famous for the most humble of all condiments – the salad dressing.

This isn’t just any salad dressing though – all natural, and made in small batches with the highest quality, freshest ingredients available. Available in four flavors – Classic Balsamic, Cyprus Citrus, Tuscan Herb and the unique Bacon Balsamic - Gourmondo’s custom-blended salad dressings have been carefully developed through popular demand and fine-tuned over time from customer feedback.  I do love salad but, personally, I have to admit that I don’t usually eat much of it in the winter-time. It’s just that I don’t take much to eating cold foods when it’s cold outside. (Quirky, I know ;-) )

But this salad, being perfectly comforting (with bacon and cheese and avocado!), is appropriate for year-round enjoyment. And since today is the first day of spring (though it has not thawed much here in the Pacific Northwest) salad season is upon us.

As I have been busying myself with studying period recipes from the 60’s for the Mad Men premiere party I am hosting on Sunday (more on that later!), I was inspired to make this updated wedge salad using this decadent dressing. Bite-sized mini versions of this recipe will definitely be on Sunday’s menu! Modern Wedge Salad for One – With Gourmondo Bacon Balsamic

  • 5-7 leaves Romaine Lettuce
  • 1/4-1/2 Avocado
  • 6 Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1/8 cup Blue Cheese
  • Gourmondo Bacon Balsamic Dressing – drizzle

Layer romaine leaves on a small plate – trimming the leaves so that they fit nicely. Slice an avocado and nestle it into the romaine leaves. Top with halved cherry tomatoes and crumbled blue cheese. Then add a slight amount of Gourmondo Bacon Balsamic.

Gourmondo’s rich and creamy salad dressings will be available through the website soon but you can get your fix now at any Metropolitan Market locations or these other fine retailers.

I was not financially compensated for this post. I received a sample for review purposes. The opinions are completely my own based on my experience.

