Tags

, , , , ,

About three years ago something magical happened for me in a room full of food lovers.

I was attending my first Foodportunity, “a networking event for all food passionate people” hosted by Keren Brown of Frantic Foodie.

As an events planner, with the belief that food is the key ingredient in connecting us during life’s special moments, I had recently taken to Twitter in search of some fresh, new food vendors for the events that I produce. It was there that I read about this event and decided to step out of my comfort zone. (As an introvert, I was much more comfortable behind the scenes than in a room full of people passing around business cards.)

Terrified, and yet excited, to actually meet in person all the like-minded (food-focused) people I had come to “know” virtually on Twitter, I walked into the room and was immediately pounced on by two very animated women.

It went something like this:

“Oh my god! It’s KristinPotPie! KRISTINPOTPIE! We LOVE you!”

“Hi.” I answered tentatively, looking around, thinking maybe they had me mixed up with someone else.

“We just love your food updates on Twitter!”

“Um. Thank you?” They were looking directly at me..maybe they were speaking to me after all…

“Yeah, why don’t you have a blog?”

I muttered something incoherent and muffled like, “Me? Oh, I don’t know…” and quickly changed the topic of discussion, “I think I’m going to get a drink, anyone else?”

That was the moment I seized my first true Foodportunity. That was the day this blog was born.

What I didn’t want to say to them was that I was a writer who wasn’t writing. Why didn’t I have a blog? In my head I had an arsenal of excuses:

What would I write about that would interest people? When would I find the time to blog? Why would anyone listen to what I have to say when there are so many more knowledgeable people out there?

But here before me were these women, strangers to me, who believed in me more than I did in myself. That was my foodportunity – a living, breathing, supportive community.

And now, several Foodportunity events and countless other food and networking events later, I continue to seize every foodportunity. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all champagne and roses. It’s hard work and I have my days when I wonder if it’s all worth it, or the words aren’t coming to me, and I’m tempted to pack it in…but then I get an encouraging email or a message from someone I have met through this community and I start typing again.

Throughout my life, when speaking with others about food, I have found myself reveling in the delight that comes with sharing a recipe or a tip on how to make a special celebration more memorable with food – even if what you are celebrating is the everyday. That is what KristinPotPie is all about. It’s a recipe for the most delicious celebrations.

But there is something missing here – do you know what it is?

The most frequently asked question I get when I tell people the name of my blog – “Do you share recipes for potpies?” Well, no actually. I have not once posted a potpie recipe. I guess that’s been an untapped natural opportunity for me…so here it goes.

Kris”tin”Potpies

These mini potpies are made in muffin tins and are the perfect size for a hand-held party snack.

  • Your favorite pie crust – I use this one (a recipe for a 9″ pie – top and bottom is just perfect)
  • 1 lb raw diced chicken
  • 1-1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 12 oz. Mixed veggies frozen – corn, green beans, peas and carrots
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 TB flour
  • 1 TB butter
  • 1 ts fresh chopped rosemary
  • 1 ts fresh thyme leaves
  • 1-1/2 ts fresh chopped oregano
  • 1 TB olive oil

Heat pan over med-high heat. Pour in olive oil then add chicken and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cool until no longer pink, stirring frequently.

Add vegetables to the pan and cook for 3-5 minutes over medium heat until vegetables thaw. Place butter in the pan and sprinkle the mixture with flour. Cook for about 3 minutes until butter is melted and flour is incorporated, then add herbs and chicken stock. Stir and cook until thickened  Рabout 7 or 8 minutes. Add cream and allow to thicken over low heat to desired consistency. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Grease 2-6 serving muffin tins. Roll out pie dough to desired thickness – 1/8″ thick. Cut 2 circles from the dough for each potpie – use a small bowl or large drinking glass, making sure that the circle fits into the muffin tin hole and overlaps at the top (a 6″ circle is what I used.) Place the pie bottom into each cup and fill with chicken mixture. Top each pie with 2nd circle and crimp the top and bottom edges together. Brush the top of each pie with beaten egg white. Bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes until golden brown.

Allow to cool for about five minutes before carefully removing them from the muffin tin. Place pies in individual cupcake holders and serve.

Linked up over at:

AtoZebra_Button-1

