Tags

, , , , , , ,

Bacon Wrapped PrawnsLast week I was asked to bring my, “favorite holiday dish” to the Christmas celebration at my dad’s house. Well, I don’t really have a “favorite holiday dish” so I decided to try something new! (Though I did bring my favorite-to-make holiday cookies for dessert – Norwegian Krumkake! See the recipe here.)

So, I threw some prawns into a bowl and went to my cupboard and added a bit of this and a bit of that!

With a hard to please family, I am always looking for something that everyone will enjoy. This comes about as close as anything I make. Most everyone likes bacon AND prawns.

This slightly sweet, slightly spicy appetizer would make a great addition to your New Year’s Eve celebration – or for any other celebration of the year that you need a crowd-pleasing snack.

Bacon Wrapped PrawnsBacon Wrapped Prawns

  • 1 lb raw, shelled prawns (26-30 size)
  • 1 lb raw, sliced bacon (not thick sliced)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • fresh ground pepper

In a small bowl, mix all ingredients together except the prawns and bacon. Marinate the prawns in this mixture for 30 minutes to an hour. Slice bacon in half and wrap each prawn with a half slice of bacon. Secure each wrapped prawn with a toothpick. Bake wrapped prawns on a baking sheet in preheated oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Then heat under the broiler for about 5 minutes or until bacon crisps to desired crunch.

What is your favorite appetizer to serve on New Year’s?

