Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_1883In honor of the upcoming Foodportunity event that I mentioned to you last week, sponsors of the event, Kitchenbug, invited some local food bloggers to create a recipe box and share our favorite Seattle-inspired foods.

Kitchenbug is an online platform for sharing and collecting recipes from any website. With Kitchenbug’s simple point and click process you can organize all your recipes into boxes, follow other users’ recipes, adjust recipes from U.S to Metric and search your recipes with search terms like low fat, low cholesterol and heart healthy.

KitchenbugHaving guests visit us this week from out of town was a wonderful reminder of just how fortunate I am to live here in Seattle.

Now don’t get me wrong, I grew up here, I love my city and constantly wax poetic about Seattle to anyone who will listen! But sometimes I forget just how special it is until I see it through another set of eyes.

Farmers MarketWe are so fortunate to have the access that we do to such great food. A veritable wealth of restaurants, food trucks and local food purveyors.

We have the bounty that is the Pike Place Market right smack dab in the center of the city, not to mention several local neighborhood farmers markets that fill almost every day of the week.

Heidelberg HausThere’s an abundance of fresh seafood (salmon is king here!) and ethnic food from every corner of the world. There’s a proliferation of Asian influence, and on any given day I can choose to enjoy food from my German and Scandinavian roots or branch out further to French, Persian, Greek, Salvadorian (papusas!), Ethiopian, Hawaiian, Filipino (ah lumpia!) – the list goes on.

Seattle FoodOur nearby Canadian neighbors also let us borrow their culinary delicacies – like Poutine! Small food producers abound, from cupcakes and salted caramels (and salted caramel cupcakes!) to a plethora of locally produced charcuterie, cheeses and wines.

Cupcake RoyaleCheck out some of my favorite flavors of Seattle at Kitchenbug and be sure to sign up and build your own recipe boxes!

What do you like best about Seattle’s food scene? You too can share your favorite Seattle inspired food! Just leave me a note in the comments below!

