Photo courtesy of Cirque du Soleil

I am one extraordinarily lucky person…if you believe in luck. My husband detests that word, luck. He would say that there is no such thing, that I am just fortunate. Whatever you call it, I seem to have a knack for winning. Usually tickets to events, and especially on Twitter. Maybe it’s because there are so many contests, and I enter quite a few of them, I don’t know, but I win something, on average, a couple of times a month.

My most recent win was a major score. You see, I am a huge theatre fan, in fact I have always been in love with the theatre, was a theatre major in college, and worked in the industry for several years. I go whenever I can, and it’s even better when it’s free. 🙂

My latest windfall was two tickets to see Cirque du Soleil’s Kooza in Marymoore Park, and boy, what a treat! (I realized then that I must enter a lot of contests, because when I received that tweet from Where Magazine telling me I had won, I couldn’t for the life of me even remember entering!)

After exhausting every member of my household with requests that they accompany me (their loss!), I called my best girlfriend, and we decided to make an evening of it. I have seen Cirque  perform a couple of times, and was over-the-top excited at the opportunity to see them again.  She, on the other hand, had never seen them, and I was equally excited at the chance to share this experience with her.

Going to a Cirque du Soleil show is an event itself. They perform under the big top just like the circuses of old. Even the concessions stand is a cute little tent.

Popcorn anyone?

Kooza is a beautiful story of power, fear and identity, and tells the tale of The Innocent, a melancholy loner in search of his place in the world while he travels through the fantastical world of the Trickster.

Photo courtesy of Cirque du Soleil

Combining two circus traditions, clowning and acrobatics, Cirque celebrates their 25th year by highlighting their origins. The juxtaposition of the highly comedic slapstick and the graceful, sensational acrobatics is delightful!

The three-hour spectacle flew by quickly, and as I watched from the opening act, The Contortionists, all the way through to the final performance, I was in awe with what the human body is capable of doing. Several stunts were performed on the double high wire; jump roping, fencing, bicycle riding, and a unique game of leap-frog. The stunning unicycle duo, with beautiful accompanying music, was reminiscent of a classic ballet duet. Other highlights included the high energy wheel of death, chair balancing, hilarious audience participation, and fabulous musical performances. A couple of near falls made for even more jaw-dropping excitement. And the much-needed comic relief of the clowns in between acrobatic acts allowed for my heart to dislodge itself from my stomach and return to my chest. Best of all, I enjoyed sneaking peaks every once in while at my friend’s face. She was mesmerized by the show. I would have paid for that!

Kooza is playing in Redmond until July 11th. So hurry! Go see it!

