Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m getting ready for the big game!

One of my favorite (holi-)days of the year is Super Bowl Sunday. I remember as a kid it was always a big affair – a day filled with family, friends, and food! But I always get a little sad when Super Bowl Sunday rolls around. As much fun as it is, I know that it is the last game of the season, and oh, how I do love my football! For me, it’s not only about watching the game, though I do love watching. But I really just enjoy those lazy weekend days when it’s cold outside, lounging around on the couch with a cozy blanket and intermittently nibbling and napping. Sometimes made even more delicious with a nice fire and a good book added to the mix.

So I am planning my snack spread for Sunday because, who are we kidding, it is really mostly all about the food. (And the commercials :-))

Each of my family members has weighed in on their nosh of choice and here’s what we’ve come up with:

GAME DAY MENU

Husband – Ribs

Son #1 – Taquitos

Son #2 – Fried Chicken Hearts (didn’t see that one coming – did ya?)

Me – Guacamole

Dessert – Chocolate Cake-y Item

Plus various chips, crackers, cheese, veggies – whatever I have on hand.

Hmmmm…speaking of that last list item, my husband found these the other day in the store! Chester’s Fries!

Have you ever had these? They are very hard to find around here in the Pacific Northwest but we so enjoy them when we visit my mom in Florida. Guess they, as is so often the case with foods we love, are a memory inducer – going to the warm sandy beach in Florida…yes, please!

Okay, enough dreaming of warm, far-away, peaceful places…back to the task at hand.

Of course, I started my menu planning with dessert and this chocolate-cake-lovin gal wanted to marry these cake pops from Bakerella when I saw them. I was originally thinking about making brownies and cutting them out into football shapes, then piping them with white icing laces, but when I found these I was totally enchanted!

So now that I have dessert all planned out…

On to the snacks – I just think this edible Chex mix bowl from Food Network, featured on  Persona Gift Pail’s Blog, is so fun!

Chester’s Fries in this?

It’s a maybe.

Since I had never made taquitos, my search was on for the perfect recipe. And to my delight, what recipe came up listed 2nd on the page of my Google search but Life’s Ambrosia’s food blog? Desiree is a local food blogger that I know which was a definite selling point – And just look at those! When I saw these I just wanted to put my face through the computer screen and stuff  my mouth full of them!

‘Nuff said. This is the winner!

I think some guacamole would go very nicely with these! Here is my recipe. I don’t put cilantro in my guac, but you can add it if you like.

Guacamole

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1 small tomato diced
  • 1/4 onion diced
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh minced garlic
  • 1/2 the juice of a lime
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce (I use Tapitio)
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • kosher salt to taste
  • cilantro (optional)

Lightly mash the avocado – be sure not to mash the avocados too much because when you add the other ingredients they will further break down and you don’t want it mushy. Chop the onion and tomato. Add all other ingredients, and mix. Refrigerate for an hour to let all the flavors incorporate, but then pull the dip out well before you need it – it is best served at room temperature.

Now, about those chicken hearts. That’s what’s got you really curious, right? My love for these goes way back.

When we were kids my stepmother used to make fried chicken, but back then people would always buy the whole chicken and cut it up. There were always one or two chicken hearts in that little bag that comes along with the gizzard and the liver. She would cook up the gizzards too but us kids didn’t care for them much – we always fought over the hearts – until one day my dad discovered that we could buy whole packages of just chicken hearts. We were in heaven.

These days I have a hard time finding them, but discovered by accident one day I could find them at the local Asian market. I picked these up today!

Now, I have never actually made these myself as my husband is grossed out at the thought of chicken hearts. But my son, who has had them now several times at Grandma and Grandpa’s house has been asking for them for so long – I figured what better day than a snacky day like the Super Bowl? My husband has acquiesced. He says he’s just going to hold his breath all day. What a sweetheart!

This recipe was given to me by my stepmother with no measurements and is the same one that she uses to make her fried chicken. I have guessed at the amounts, so if you decide to make these you will just have to feel your way through as I will be doing on Sunday.

Fried Chicken Hearts

  • Paprika (1 teaspoon?)
  • flour (1 cup?)
  • salt (1/2 teaspoon?)
  • chicken hearts (1 lb?)
  • vegetable oil to coat bottom of pan

Combine flour, paprika and salt in a plastic or paper bag and shake to mix. Rinse and pat dry chicken hearts. Coat bottom of cast iron skillet with oil and place in oven while it pre-heats to 425 degrees. Salt chicken hearts and then dredge in flour mixture. Place in heated pan in a single layer. Cook 15-20 in oven then turn and cook for another 15-20 minutes until done. Drain on a paper-towel-covered plate.

Mmmmmm! I just can’t wait for Sunday! What are you doing for the big game? Are you cooking or do you order in? If you are cooking, what are you making?

