Tags

, , , , , ,

Tomorrow is Cinco de Mayo and, since Mother’s Day is also this week, I wanted to share this recipe for Chile Relleno that I got from my mother (MamaPotPie), but then I found out that this easy-peasy, three-ingredient, vegetarian recipe is actually a creation of my Stepfather’s (StepPapaPotPie? Really?! Come on now! How far can I truly take this?)

Oh well…at least I had good intentions. 😉

I love this method of cooking fresh peppers. No doughy batter to mess with, and the peppers retain their nice green hue and a good bit of their snap. It’s also much easier because in parboiling the peppers the skins cook just enough that you don’t have to remove them. Just be sure not to over-boil the peppers or they will turn out mushy!

This Chile Relleno dish makes a perfect Cinco de Mayo meal served with some beans and Spanish Rice.

I created this recipe for Spanish Rice when I wanted to make some to go with my Chile Relleno but discovered that I didn’t have any packages of it in the cupboard. I did however have an extra can of Ro-Tel (you know, the cans of cut up tomatoes and green chilies?) that I had purchased for a Queso dip for a party at work but decided not to use. I didn’t have any other need for it as far as I could tell, but wouldn’t it work to make a nice Spanish Rice?  I  did an online search for Ro-Tel Spanish Rice and based my recipe on this one from LiveStrong.  I’ll never go back to pre-packaged!

CHILE RELLENO

  • 4 Anaheim peppers
  • Shredded Mexican cheese
  • 1 small can of green or red enchilada sauce (I used red)
Rinse peppers. Cut a slit in each one lengthwise, and then cut around the top of the pepper but not all the way through into a T-shape.

Clean out the seeds. Bring a pot of water to a boil, then add the peppers and parboil them for 5 minutes.

Drain the peppers well and let them cool before handling.

Gently stuff  the peppers with the cheese and place in a single layer in a casserole with cut side down.

Pour enchilada sauce over the peppers. (You can also make your own enchilada sauce – my friend Shelley recommends this one from Allrecipes.com. I’m going to try this next time!)

Then top the dish with more shredded cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Let cool for five minutes before serving. Serve with my fresh guacamole found here!

SPANISH RICE WITH RO-TEL
  • 1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1-1/2 cups white rice (I used Calrose because that’s what I had on hand and it turned out just fine)
  • 1/4 large onion – chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/2  green pepper – chopped
  • 2 cups chicken broth (or use vegetable broth for vegetarian rice!)
  • 1 can Ro-Tel (or use some fresh diced tomatoes and green chilies – 1 cup)

In a saucepan, saute onions, garlic and green peppers in some olive oil until just soft.

Then add rice and brown slightly.

Add chicken broth and Ro-Tel then bring to a boil.

Turn heat down to a simmer, cover pan and cook for 20 minutes.

And for dessert? How about a nice chocolatey (and spicy!) brownie? Make your favorite brownie recipe and spice it up with a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon of chili powder and a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper.

