Tags

, , ,

I think I am finally starting to come out of my sugar coma from this past weekend’s Will Bake for Food! My guess is that I may have come home with more goodies than I went with! Don’t judge!

It was a huge success! This year’s event brought in over $2500, collected several huge barrels of food for the Emergency Feeding Program in Seattle and all bake sale leftovers were donated at the end to the Rainier Valley food bank.

My comfort food appetite was truly quenched by home-spun twinkies, peanut butter cups, marshmallows, granola, oreos and Seattle Nordy Bars (or is it “Nordie”?) Remember those?

In addition to enjoying the plethora of fine baked goods available, I loved seeing good friends, re-connecting with old friends and making new ones. At my table I was pleased to meet new-to-me food bloggers Eat Drink Man Woman Dogs Cat and A Big Mouthful. You should definitely check out their blogs!

I reconnected with Maria from Maria’s Desserts. I hadn’t seen Maria in years and knew her in a former life over eight years ago as a one of my favorite volunteers at an organization I used to work for. She now has her own dessert company featuring very tasty gluten-free goodies.

Another food blogger and I went back and forth for several minutes to determine where we knew each other outside of the food blogger community – Alex Wu of yums and loves finally made me realize that I had been too long away from my spin class at the gym 😉

Funny when our various worlds collide. They do say Seattle is a small town disguised as a big city.

I was terribly lucky that day. (I do tend to be very lucky at these things) I won this very cool interlocking spice container starter set, donated by Tablefare, in the raffle. I have been coveting one of these for quite a while!

The best part though was spending time with my mother-in-law who recently lost her spouse of 25 years and is living with us temporarily. She was my trusty partner in crime through it all – we laughed and talked and bonded over shopping for supplies, baking and packing everything up into pretty packages well into the night. If she can stand my overly “detail-oriented” way of doing things (isn’t that a nice way of saying “neurotic”? 😉 ) and still like me – then I think we are doing okay.

While searching for the pumpkin bar recipe for my bake-fest, I looked all through my messy stack of hand-written cards and torn-from-magazine pages. I found this one that I had forgotten my grandmother had given to me. I had been asking for it for years. It is my great-grandmother’s German Apple Cake recipe.

Finding it gave me an opportunity to revive an old family recipe and reconnect with my German heritage (and my husband’s.) And it changes my baking rotation forever!

My german mother-in-law said it reminded her of home as she licked her fork clean. That is some kind of compliment!

What is your favorite family recipe?

German Apple Cake

  • 4 cups fresh diced apples (about 3 apples)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Mix eggs and oil together. Add sugar and vanilla and mix well. Mix dry ingredients together in separate bowl then add gradually to wet ingredients until well blended. Add cut apples and blend. Pour into greased 9″x13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees for about one hour. Cool and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

