Tags

, , ,

I have dropped the ball. I had planned to post everyday a “Hand-Picked Holiday” post this week. But life happens and as it turned out I got really sick. I don’t think I have been this sick in a looooong time! I guess all the changes in my life over the last couple of months finally caught up with me…

But, the upside is – leftover turkey! Yes, in between naps and trying to work from home, sniffles, and coughs, I was able to take advantage of little bursts of energy here and there, to make the best medicine there is – homemade turkey noodle soup! I am so thankful that it was just Thanksgiving and I just happened to have a turkey carcass on hand 🙂

It’s not a quick process, but I had some time on my hands so it was so nice to just let the broth simmer and enjoy the wonderful aroma. That right there lifted my spirits a bit.

Here’s how I did it:

Put the turkey carcass (with some meat still on it) in a large pot with some herbs – whatever you have on hand, I used thyme, oregano, parsley, rosemary and sage – toss in a couple of stalks of celery (leaves and all) and 3 or 4 carrots roughly chopped, a whole onion quartered, two bay leaves, two heads of garlic, salt, peppercorns and a small hunk of ginger root.

Cover with water and bring to a boil. Turn heat down and simmer for several hours – I let mine simmer all day, adding a bit of water as needed so that the water level doesn’t get down too much.

When the broth has finished simmering and tastes good – yeah sorry, this is how I cook! – it is time to drain it. Use a fine strainer.

Store the strained stock in the fridge to set overnight. Then separate the meat out from all the bones, skin and vegetables. Store the meat in a separate container in the fridge for your soup.

Day 2: Soup time! Skim the fat off the top then pour the stock into a pot, add a couple of stalks of celery, a few carrots and one quarter of an onion – all diced. Season with two bay leaves and some salt and pepper to taste- you can add a few finely chopped herbs to taste as well if you like. Simmer for half an hour to one hour then add your turkey meat while the noodles cook in some salted water.

I made homemade noodles but you can use fresh or dried if you like. It is very important to cook the noodles separately before adding to the soup pot and serve your soup immediately after you add the noodles. When your noodles are ready add them and it’s soup!

You can also make this recipe with a whole raw (or leftover) chicken any time of the year. 🙂

I promise I will be back to the regular routine tomorrow – This soup is working wonders and I am on the mend!

What makes you feel better when you are sick?20111202-204502.jpg

