Tags

, , , , ,

All week I have been sharing last-minute homemade gifts. And with today being Christmas Eve-Eve, these REALLY last-minute ideas are super simple and take very little time. Of course, I had some help 🙂

Gingerbread Cookies with Tea Towel

I made these wonderful gingerbread cookies from Allrecipes.com last year.

My family just loved this recipe, so this year my 11-year-old son and I decided they would be the perfect addition to our Christmas Eve Dessert & Appetizer buffet.

Actually, my son did quite a bit of the work – I made the dough,

but he rolled…

cut-out…

and decorated each and every cookie along side of me! He’s becoming a little expert Gingerbread Man baker!

I love gingerbread men as a gift – they are so cute and taste so good!  This gift is perfect for last-minute because you can use any type of rolled & cut cookie, not just gingerbread.

Package them up with a cookie cutter and tea towel, include a recipe card, and you are done! And even if you don’t have time to bake you can buy store-bought cookies and package them similarly.

I saw these towel and cookie cutter sets for just a couple of dollars and decided to snag up a few of them for neighbor gifts.

And I am so glad I did! We just received two Day-After-Christmas parties in the neighborhood – these will make the best hostess gifts!

Fresh Rosemary Wreaths

For a couple of years now I have seen quite a few images online of little wreaths as decorations on the backs of chairs at a holiday table and have been wanting to try it. This year I decided that I would make little wreaths from fresh Rosemary and spruce up my dining room set!

They will make a lovely decoration for my Christmas Eve Open House. Then as guests leave, I will simply detach them from the chairs, add a smaller ribbon (pre-cut, of course) and hand them out for my guests to take home and use in their own kitchen.

All I did for each of these was take two long-ish pieces of fresh rosemary…

wrap them around one another at opposite ends…

attached the ends with some floral wire…

and then continued wrapping the wire around the “wreath” to secure the pieces together. I added in a few other smaller pieces of rosemary to fill in any gaps.

I think they are adorable! Plus they smell so good!

Merry Christmas!

