Tags

, , ,

Update (1/20/12-7:35 am): Winners – Jessica & Jen Evison! Congratulations! You each won one ticket to Foodportunity on February 6th at the Palace Ballroom. Enjoy!

This blog is my Foodportunity. But it may never have existed without Foodportunity. What is Foodportunity? A fabulous series of Seattle networking events for food professionals and food lovers alike.

I had been toying with the idea of starting a blog when I attended two years ago and I ran into a couple of people I had been following on Twitter – “Oh my god, we love your tweets about food!” they said. “Why don’t you have a blog?” Why don’t I have a blog? I thought.

Through this event I have also connected with many in the food industry and found a community of food lovers like myself, some of which have become mentors and many have become good friends.

The next Foodportunity Seattle, sponsored by Metropolitan Market, will take place on Monday, February 6, from 6 p.m. – 9 p.m. at Tom Douglas’ beautiful Palace Ballroom, 2100 5th Ave.

A group of local food entrepreneurs and chefs will be available for questions and conversation in the lounge of the Palace Ballroom between 6:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.:

  • Kathy Casey of Kathy Casey Food Studios Liquid Kitchen™, Dish D’Lish®  and cookbook Sips & Apps (I love this book!)
  • Kurt Beecher Dammeier of Beecher’s Handmade Cheese, Maximus / Minimus, Pasta & Co, Bennett’s Pure Food Bistro and cookbook Pure Flavor
  • Jessie Oleson of CakeSpy.com, CakeSpy shop and cookbook CakeSpy Presents Sweet Treats for a Sugar-Filled Life
  • Lisa Dupar of Pomegranate Bistro, Lisa Dupar Catering and cookbook Fried, Chicken and Champagne

A selection of appetizers will be served at the event from such fine food establishments as Rover’s and Luc, The Coterie Room, Local 360, The Inn at Langley, Il Corvo Pasta, Harborside ,Volunteer Park Café, and many more.

I had my first taste of A la Mode Pies at a previous Foodportunity - Mmmmm! Pie on a stick!

Foodportunity is open to food journalists, bloggers, public relations professionals, restaurateurs, farmers, companies and all food-passionate people and was created by Seattle event planner and food blogger Keren Brown.

Keren Brown, AKA Frantic Foodie, conceived of the food networking idea known as Foodportunity and has held over a dozen of food-related events last year in both Seattle and Portland. Recently recognized by MarthaStewart.com as “Doer of the Week,” Keren is the author of the Food Lovers’ Guide to Seattle which I reviewed on this blog back in July.  She also organizes monthly events for Seattle food bloggers where she holds Q&A sessions with famous authors, tours of food companies and other events to help bloggers interact. She is truly a Seattle networker!

Early admission is $25 ($30 at a later date), which includes bites from restaurants and companies. Tickets can be purchased through BrownPaperTickets.com.

I want you to find your own foodportunity. So, thanks to Keren (I just love this gal!), I am giving away one ticket each to two lucky readers. The contest will end at midnight PST on Thursday, January 19th. I will draw two names from the comments below, using Random.org, on Friday, January 20th before 9am.

Here’s how to enter:

Main Entry – Leave a comment on this blog telling me what your foodportunity is OR visit www.foodportunity.com. and then come back and tell me what restaurant you are excited to see at next month’s Foodportunity. (You MUST do this first!)

Extra Entries – (You MUST leave a comment for each one that you do.)

Good luck! 🙂

