Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, I have a little confession to make before I share my latest Freggies box spoils.

After my desperate plea for help, and many great recipe ideas from you readers, I never got around to cooking the beets. I tell myself that I ran out of time before they went bad, but honestly, I just kept putting it off…maybe next time! I really do want to try this recipe from Jenndotcom.

I did however try to stir fry the beet greens and the chard together in olive oil and garlic after several readers suggested this method of cooking. This is the same way I always prepare fresh spinach so I figured it was fail-proof.

I’m not sure what happened – maybe they sat in the crisper drawer too long? – but the greens were far too bitter for my liking. I even added a pat of butter and a squeeze of lemon, but not I just could not choke them down. The next day I cooked up the spinach and it was amazing!

Oh and the Organic potatoes? INCREDIBLE! What flavor – a little hint of sweet! I had not realized how much the regular old run-of-the-mill potatoes that I buy at the grocery store actually taste like dirt. Much of my family on my father’s side comes from Idaho – potato country –  so I thought I knew my potatoes!

Do yourself a favor. Next time you are at the store buying potatoes, buy organic! You will be so glad you did!

Things are moving and shaking around here and when life gets hectic, I make soup. So when I saw what came in my latest Freggies box, I was ecstatic. Green beans and a leek! I knew I had to make this soup recipe that my stepfather gave me.

I have several events at work this month, baseball season has started for my older son who is once again working as an umpire for the local little league and my mother in law is busy preparing to move out and into her new home.

She bought a manufactured home in an Over-55 trailer park just 20 minutes away. The woman she bought it from though never lifted a sponge (or vacuum cleaner, or duster, or any other implementation of cleaning) the whole time she lived there. So my mother-in-law is busy every day at the “new” house scraping six years of grime off the place and hubby is up there, as often as he can, fixing things. It’s going to be so cute when she is done, I’m sure of it! 🙂

Everyone’s running in all different directions these days, and when we all get home at the end of the day, the last thing anyone wants to do is cook…or wait around for a meal.

If you have time to prepare it, soup is a wonderful meal to make when your family is busy. You can throw it together and leave the pot simmering on the stove for all to help themselves when they can. But a lot of times when I make a soup I make it completely from scratch, broth and all, and it takes 3 days.

The first day I make the stock. The second day I take the stock out of the fridge, skim the fat and make the soup. And the third day we eat – after the soup has cured overnight in the fridge, melding and enriching all the flavors. I do, however, have some quick and easy soup recipes that I keep in my back pocket for times like these when I don’t have three days to make soup! Here is one delicious one! Green Bean Soup.

What are your tricks and tips for quick and easy meals when cooking time is at a premium?

Green Bean Soup

  • 2 – 28oz boxes of organic beef broth
  • 1/2 lb top round – cut into small pieces
  • 2 small potatoes – diced
  • 1 lb fresh green beans – ends trimmed then cut in half
  • 2 small tomatoes – peeled & quartered
  • 1 leek – cleaned and sliced very thin (mostly white – very little of the green)
  • 1 small onion diced
  • salt & pepper

Pour beef broth into stock pot and add beef. Simmer over medium heat for half an hour. Add potatoes, tomatoes, leek, onion and green beans. Simmer for another half hour until potatoes and green beans are cooked through. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve up with some nice crunchy bread.

