Tags

, , , ,

Seattle Opera announces May 5 free simulcast of Madama Butterfly.

I was kind of a strange child.

When I was about middle school age our television broke and my dad, fed up with our zombie-like addiction, decided that he’d had enough and refused to replace it.

“Find other things to do”, he said. And we did. (With one teen boy, and one on the verge of teen-dom, I often wonder, in this day of technology overload, what it would be like to do to them what my dad did for us…)

I think my deep love for reading and writing was born in this time-frame. Trips to the library quickly became my favorite thing to do during those days – checking out masses of books. And to listen to while I wrote and read? Many, many records – yes records! (I know, I am dating myself here.) Always an explorer, I picked up materials I had never heard of, and some I had but might never have experienced otherwise. And as a theatre lover from the age of 6 years old, when my parents took me to see Jesus Christ Superstar, I picked up gobs of Broadway cast albums.

Opera also intrigued me.

While my younger brother was rocking out in his room to AC/DC, I was blaring Carmen in mine.

I have attended an opera or two over the years but never as many as I would like, so I was delighted when recently I was invited to a very special event at the Seattle Opera.

Puccini’s masterpiece, Madama Butterfly is one of the greatest operas of all time, and one I have always wanted to see. It will run for eight performances at Marion Oliver McCaw Hall in Seattle: May 5, 9, 11, 12, 13, 16, 19, and 20.

It opens this Saturday night and in celebration of the Seattle Center’s 50th anniversary the Seattle Opera is presenting its first ever-simulcast.

What is a simulcast? Here’s how it works: While the popular Madama Butterfly is being performed onstage at McCaw Hall seven cameras will be positioned around the stage. The show will be simultaneously projected in HD on a huge 50’ x 80’ screen at Key Arena via a live video feed.

The best part? TICKETS ARE FREE to the Key Arena event! But only 8,000 will be distributed. There are still some tickets available to Saturday’s event at Key Arena. Get yours HERE.

Stefano Secco (Pinkerton) and Patricia Racette (Cio-Cio-San)
© Elise Bakketun photo

When and Where:

Saturday, May 5
KeyArena at Seattle Center
Simulcast begins at 7:30 p.m.

The Details:

All ticket holders will get priority seating between 6:00-6:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 5. You may enter KeyArena through either the East or West doors. Starting at 6:30, any remaining seats will be available to customers who do not have tickets. Be sure to arrive before 6:30 to get the best seats. All seats are general admission.

Once inside KeyArena, there will be plenty of activities to keep you busy, including video programming about Seattle Opera as well as lobby activities where you can learn more about opera. Plus all the usual KeyArena concessions will be available.

I am so excited and honored to have been invited to attend the event as a member of the “social” press and will be there live tweeting and sharing on Facebook. (SO COOL!)

Be sure to follow along or feel free to join the conversation on Facebook or by using the Twitter hashtag #OperaAtKey.

Hope to see there!

