Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you are entertaining this red, white and blue holiday, chances are it involves some sort of barbecue – hamburgers? hotdogs? Maybe some ribs? Mmmm!

But while you’re greeting your guests, and the meat’s on the grill, remember that people always arrive hungry so be sure to put out a little something for everyone to nibble on.

I find that I turn fairly frequently to the old standby. The cheese platter. A little fruit. Some bread. And, of course, a nice variety of cheeses, and voila! Appetizers made easy!

Instead of just laying it all out haphazardly on a platter, why not make it a bit more visually exciting by re-purposing some vintage items and things you may have around the house?

This patriotic table setting was inspired by a recent trip to the flea market and finding these vintage cheese graters for a dollar apiece – just days after pinning this photo of cheese grater luminaries on Pinterest! I could not believe my good fortune!

I added my fabulous picnic basket that I had picked up for just a couple bucks at a yard sale a few years ago…

…And some red white and blue accents – white flowers from my yard arranged in an old watering can I have.Look! I found a little friend as I was assembling the flowers with some flags and decorations I re-used from another event (she seems to like this glittery red holiday spray from my Christmas tree!)

Did you know that lady bugs are supposed to be good luck? 🙂

The tile I used for the cheese platter was a tongue-in-cheek gift from my husband on our last anniversary – our 18th – an 18″x18″ ceramic tile. (Ceramic is the traditional gift for year eighteen) and can be purchased at any big box home improvement center for just a few dollars – a far better deal than those expensive cheese slates you see at many upscale home decor stores!

He thought I was joking when I told him I would find a use for this someday!

I hope you all have a fantastic holiday weekend…

…filled with wonderful food, sunshine and the good company of friends and family!

– PS –

Over the long weekend as you find some time, don’t forget to vote for me for the Circle of Moms Top Mom Party Planner Blogs! You can vote once a day – and that’s great because you have 3 days before I remind you again! 😉  Please go here to cast your vote! Thank you!

