Tags

, , , , , ,

20120610-204721.jpg

Blogher Food, a big food blogger conference, was held in Seattle this past weekend. While I couldn’t afford the entire conference, I was so excited when I found out that they were offering tickets to the closing night party for non-conference people. And since parties are kind of my thing, I snagged a ticket so that I could do some serious blogger networking!

The party sponsored by Masterbuilt, Allrecipes.com, and the National Pork Board, was co-hosted by bloggers Ree Drummond, Jaden Hair, and Elise Bauer.

What a beautiful event! It was held at the lovely Sodo Park. I just love this space! With exposed-beams, high ceilings and an urban-loft design, this one-of-its-kind venue blends rustic charm with modern day elegance. It is a beautiful local venue for a wedding or a large party.

20120610-205448.jpg

A bacon and chocolate martini drink is absolutely the way to greet your guests! Especially food-lovin’ guests!

20120610-205600.jpg

And the food by in-house caterer, Herban Feast, is pretty amazing too – tasty, and sourced with ingredients from local Northwest farms. I am definitely using them for an upcoming event!

20120610-210055.jpg

You know when you entertain a bunch of food bloggers you really need to pull out all the stops. Their Signature Sweet Potato and Crab Cakes are just melt-in-you-mouth divine! And these vegetarian polenta bites were quite delicious.

20120610-205910.jpg

But as good as the food and drink were, I was on a mission! I was there to network. And while networking in such a large space with so many in attendance (AND without having attended the whole conference) was certainly intimidating, I warmed up when I saw some old friends like Jen from Our Spinning City and Desiree from Life’s Ambrosia, and some relatively new ones like Marie from Make & Takes and Lindsey from The Stationery Place.

Seeing some friendly faces made it a bit easier to approach new people.

And I am so glad I did because I met some very nice ladies such as Shaina Olmanson from Food for My Family and Kathy Strahs from Panini Happy – I so have to check out her recipes! I love panini!

But the icing on the cake for the evening was getting to meet hostess extraordinaire, Ree Drummond of The Pioneer Woman. This woman really knows how to entertain! And she is delightful!

20120610-210216.jpg

What a night! Being in a room full of people who love to write and share ideas with their readers and who are passionate about their craft was rejuvenating for me as a writer. And who doesn’t love a good party? 🙂

Thank you Blogher Food!

