Tags

, , , , , , , ,

One of my favorite things to do when styling a party is to use a nice mixture of new and old items. Thrift stores are great for finding those vintage pieces, but a good flea market is oh, so much more fun!

Recently I wrote about some of my great finds at the Lake City Lions second Saturday flea market, but since this market is coming to a close for the season I was so pleased to have also found the most fabulous flea market run by two women who share a love of vintage design.

Karen Pierce and Angie Mordy of “Groovy Girlfriends” host “A Very Vintage Market” once a month at the Lake City Community Center. Full of vintage, antiques and hand-crafted items for home and garden, I was totally smitten by this show! (Which I attended with my “grooviest girlfriend”, Stacey!)

They also have the best vendors! These two gals, Dawnie and Dawn, have known each other for 55 years – since grade school – they were such a kick!

And they sold me this crazy birdcage ( I mean, honestly! What bird would be restricted to this cage for very long?! Just look at those gaps!)

I totally visualize this piece hanging from a tree branch above a nicely set table for two in the garden – fill it with a large pillar candle, maybe dripping with some fresh flowers, and it’s just perfect!

I adore a good tea party. So, as I wandered the market a bit more, this vendor’s goods, with all the re-purposed tea items, spoke to me.

I was so impressed with these quaint lamps made from old teacups and pots by Theresa Smith of Serendipity Goods. Aren’t they sweet?

I picked up this tea cup holder – it will look so special on a tea-party table with my great grandmother’s old teacups and saucers.

I have one of these toast holders in my very own tabletop collection – and I have used it for just this purpose at my Mad Men party (here)! Holding napkins!

What else can one use a vintage toast rack for? So many possibilities!

Speaking of tea…

Is it tea time yet?

How about a little break from shopping?

In addition to soups and sandwiches provided by Great Harvest Bread Company, the Very Vintage Market features a tea corner. And what an awesome spread Charlotte from Friday Afternoon Tea does!

She hosts a full service tea each month at the Market. Available by the bag or by the cup, her specialty blended teas add that lovely “girlfriend” feel to this event.

She even offers an afternoon tea plate, complete with savory and sweet treats!

And just look at how pretty these table settings are! Taking the flea market to a whole new level! How very classy!

After tea time it was back to shopping as I visited a few more vendors.

Joyce (left) has a regular booth at the second Saturday Lions market. She’s one of my faves!

Angie (right) displayed her wares in a brilliant palette of colorful blues and greens – what a fun play of colors!

I bought this great little blue tray (lower left-hand corner) for only $4 and I have already used it a table setting! See it featured here in my nautical, red, white and blue table. (The sailboats I bought last time I was at the Lake City Lions market for only $2 for all three!)

If you are itching to go check out the Girlfriends for yourself, the next sale is this Saturday!

Here is their upcoming schedule:

  •     June 23rd  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     July 28th  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     August 25th  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     September 22  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     October  27  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     November  24  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)
  •     December 15  9 am to 4 pm  (Saturday)    

Sales are held at Lake City Community Center –

12531 28th Ave. NE, Seattle, WA 98125

FREE ADMISSION, FREE PARKING

FREE GIFT WITH YOUR PURCHASE OF $25.00, LIMIT 2 FREE GIFTS PER SHOW

A smaller version of the Very Vintage Market will also have a presence at the Lake City Farmers Market, held outside the Lake City Community Center, one Thursday a month, during July, August and September.

I encourage you to go and see what you can find for your next table setting!

BUT if you are not up to the challenge of finding your own vintage items and incorporating them into your party or event, the Girlfriends offer this service as well. They can give your special event like Weddings or Anniversaries a VINTAGE FEEL through their Vintage Prop/Staging Services.

LOVE these gals!

