Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I just realized that I have been on a bit of a patriotic kick on the blog lately.

First I showed you this patriotic cheese appetizer spread for Memorial Day, and then I shared this red, white and blue nautical seafood boil dinner for Father’s Day. Both of these would be just perfect for the 4th of July.

But after the apps and dinner, and before the evening’s festivities, there is that opportunity for some quiet time where you can just be chill with friends and family – relaxing, visiting and maybe play a few board games while waiting for the big fireworks show.

The idea for this post was inspired by this vintage-looking, Americana-style checkers board I found on my latest flea marketing trip – Groovy Girlfriends you did it again!

Serve up different kinds of popcorn – here I used plain (with butter, of course!), kettle corn and white cheddar flavors.

I found these patriotic-striped baskets at the dollar store and just lined them with a paper napkin – though cloth would work great as well!

Then I stocked up on all the red, white and blue candies I could find that had an old-fashioned feel to them.

I think this picnic silverware basket was a fun choice for holding all my candy finds!

And I just love that I was able to score these patriotic taffies! I just happened upon them at the grocery store.

Peppermint is my all-time favorite! And how much more summer-time can you get than saltwater taffy?

To serve the snacks in? Simple! Use store-bought, plain, white paper cups trimmed out with a length of colorful ribbon.

As my boys get older they prefer video games to board games with mom…

…maybe this will entice them… 😉

What is your favorite way to grab some quiet time on a long holiday?

