Tags

, , , , , , ,

I always like to send my party guests home with a little parting gift. I try to make it something that is memorable and useful. Since fall is the best time for planting, today I want to show you the perfect gift for your guests at your fall party.

I made these plant party favors for our fabulous 100th birthday party at the Arboretum. I was originally going to use burlap to wrap them, but quickly discovered that covering 100 plants in burlap would be out of my budget. So as I stood in the fabric store contemplating what I could do, it struck me. Paper lunch sacks! They are just the right size, still the rustic-earthy look I was going for, and oh, so affordable!

You can make this even more cost-conscience if you dig some starts from your own yard, though many garden centers have much of their inventory on clearance at this time of year.

All you need for this project is:

  • paper lunch sacks (I got mine at the dollar store)
  • string (you could also use twine, or even lace would be a nice touch!)
  • paper for the tags
  • scissors
  • a hole puncher
  • plant starts in 4 ” pots.

1. Trim the top of the bags off at 6″ from the bottom.

2. Open up the sack and then roll down the sides.

It doesn’t have to be perfect – remember, these are supposed to look rustic.

3. Place plant inside the bag.

And roll and scrunch the bag until you have the look you want.

4. Wrap the string around the middle of the pot several times.

Alternate wrapping loosely and tightly. This will give it a more natural look.

5. Print out tags – I used these free printables I found online and hand wrote the name of the plant on each of them.

6. I made a bigger plain tag to attach it to, just to give it a more finished look.

7. Glue the tags to each other and punch a hole.

8. Thread the two ends of the string through the tag.

Then tie it off in a knot.

What a nice little gift! Your guests are going to love these! They will think of you and remember your wonderful party each time they see it growing in their yard.

What do you like to send your guests home with?

