Tags

, , , , ,

Edible Book Festival

Recently I was honored to serve as a judge at the Shoreline-Lake Forest Park Arts Council’s first ever annual Edible Book Festival. I was asked to choose the top entrant in the category “Most Pun-derful”.

I was so amazed by the entries from talented everyday folk and though I’ve been a bit slow about it, Iwanted to share with you all a few photos of some of my faves from the event:

Edible Book FestivalSome of the entries were very literal, such as this perfect re-creation of the book cover of Little Bee and this beautiful portrayal of Alice going down the rabbit hole.

Edible Book Festival

This depiction of The Secret Garden was definitely a crowd favorite.

Edible Book Festival

Have you always wanted to see the inner workings of a bee hive?

Edible Book Festival

This artist reveals to us what really goes on inside! Imported honey! Oh no!

Edible Book Festival

The kids were not to be outdone by the grown-ups – this contest had a place for all ages. My favorite in the kid category – very whimsical! (And it was Yummy!)

Edible Book Festival

One of my favorite books is The Giving Tree and this creation was so artfully done by some very talented teens!

Edible Book Festival

And adults didn’t shy away from child’s play – this “Curious Gourgere” was gorgeous and I could have gorged on the gourgeres! De-lish!Edible Book Festival

Prizes were awarded for “Most Good Enough To Eat”, “Best 3-D/Architectural”, and “Most Literal Depiction”. All of the categories were tough to call but I felt like mine was the most difficult to choose a winner!

“A Separate Pizza” was one of my top picks for “Most Pun-derful” as the artist used several puns – even using “peace” signs as toppings!

Edible Book Festival

I just love the edible knife on this Cutting for Stone interpretation.

Edible Book Festival

This artist was very clever in her use of puns for The Grapes of Wrath.

Edible Book Festival“Ella Minnow Pea” made me smile and her cookies were so moist and tasty!

Edible Book FestivalI wasn’t sure without tasting this but “Valley of the Dills” looked like chocolate with pickles – but gross factor aside, I really enjoyed the playfulness of it! (I did later taste it and IT was chocolate! Bold choice!)

Edible Book Festival

The Game of Thrones theme is very hot right now on the party scene. This artfully arranged plate of scones would make a great addition to the buffet table.

Edible Book Festival

But my top pick for “Most Pun-derful” was Ann Sauer’s “Canary Row”. It was so smartly done! Several layers of play on words!

Edible Book Festival

I couldn’t not post this one – being a local girl who loves her burgers and the Pacific Northwest – this ode to Seattle’s best burger gave me a whale sized smile. 🙂

Edible Book FestivalWhich one is your favorite?

