Tags

, , , , , , , ,

bowl of figs

My Desert King fig tree had the most incredible bounty this year that just happened to coincide with my mother’s visit from Florida. On mom’s first evening here, we took advantage of the harvest, and prepared this dish that I only make once a year (though the marinade is always a staple in my kitchen – I use it for chicken too!) when the figs are in season.

My tree tends to fruit earlier than many other varieties grown around here so I know that some of you may still have figs from your own backyard or from the farmers market.

I am frequently asked if I have any recipes using fresh figs. I posted this recipe a few years ago when I was blogging for Girl Power Hour, but I thought it was about time for a re-post.

Enjoy!

Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Figs

Grilled Pork Tenderloin, Figs and Chevre with Balsamic Jelly

  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon season salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh chopped oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh chopped parsley
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • Pork tenderloin
  • 8 Fresh figs
  • 2 oz chevre (goat cheese)
  • Balsamic jelly (or a balsamic reduction)

Pour olive oil into large dish. Add season salt, cumin, oregano, parsley, chili pepper, paprika, and fresh ground pepper. Whisk in the balsamic vinegar, then add pork to mixture and marinate for several hours.

Cut figs in half lengthwise. Prepare them for grilling by cutting an ”X” into the pink part of the fig and coat completely with olive oil. Grill pork (or bake in oven) until internal temperature reaches 145-160 degrees(depending on how well done you like your pork.)

In the last 15 minutes of cooking, grill figs face side down until they soften slightly, then gently turn them over. Fill the center of each fig with goat cheese and grill until cheese melts. Slice pork, top one or two slices with one fig half and spoon a bit of balsamic jelly over the cheese. Serve two pork rounds for each person.

Bowl of figsWhat is your favorite way to enjoy fresh figs?

