Tags

, , , , ,

TasteofThanksgiving2013_FB_Graphic2013_2I know, I know.

I don’t want to think about it either.

In fact, I am in denial that November has even begun, but it’s true –  Thanksgiving is almost here.

Last year I hosted at my house but it looks like my husband’s cousin has the honor this year. I am relieved, I must say. I love entertaining, and while I will miss setting a beautiful table (my favorite part, of course!), I am just feeling kind of overwhelmed these days and am happy to have someone else take on the task of cleaning their house AND preparing the big meal.

The one thing that I am a bit sad about this year is that my 16 year old son won’t be with us. But he is looking forward to spending some time on the East Coast with his grandparents in Boston, as well taking a mini-trip from there to New York to spend a day or two after Thanksgiving in New York City with two of my favorite uncles!

I am somewhat jealous actually. New York at Christmas time! It is so magical in the City that time of year. Maybe I will just have to stow-away in his luggage…

Are you traveling this year or hosting at your house?

If you are like me and not at all prepared for the big turkey-eating holiday, join me this Thursday at Whole Food Market for a fun pre-Thanksgiving preview event that will help you get in the spirit of the season and plan for the big day!

Sample a ‘Taste of Thanksgiving’ at Whole Foods Market:

WHAT: Join Whole Foods Market for its annual “Taste of Thanksgiving” and enjoy a spread of the holiday offerings. Shoppers will have the chance to sample everything from specialty turkeys, to organic and healthy alternative side dishes, to the stuffing and all the fixings.

A $5 donation will provide shoppers with a full plate and 100 percent of the proceeds will go to support FareStart, a culinary job training and placement program for homeless and disadvantaged individuals.

If inspired for your own Thanksgiving meal, Whole Foods Market shoppers can order online at: http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/online-ordering

WHO: The Taste of Thanksgiving in-store events are open to the public.

WHEN: Thursday, November 7 at 5:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

WHERE: Whole Foods Market store locations throughout the greater Seattle area.

