Tags

, , , , , , ,

PNW SwapsI am just like a big kid when it comes to getting packages in the mail.

I get so excited when I come home from work and see that brown-paper wrapped box sitting on the dining table waiting for me (even when I know that a parcel is going to be delivered – because I have tracked it religiously! I’m sure I’m not the only one who does this, right?)

Out immediately comes the scissors, and as I cut the layers of tape I can barely hold myself back from ripping the paper, or sometimes on occasion, even the box. I have, however, learned to use some reserve because I now understand that my husband likes to keep the good mailing boxes to re-use. I can respect that. 🙂

The best packages of all, though, are ones where you have no idea what is contained inside.

A couple of weeks ago I participated in a fun activity that feeds my love for a good surprise package. PNW SwapsLaura of the blog Bits of Sweetness hosted a box swap! Never heard of a box swap? Well, I hadn’t either! PNWSwaps was actually my first one.

Here’s how it works: all you do is sign up, tell a bit about what kinds of things you like and you are matched up randomly with another local person. You then do a bit of shopping, send your package out by the deadline and wait to receive yours.

What’s better than getting a package from someone you don’t know? And the surprise of what’s inside makes it all the more delicious.

There was a fifteen dollar limit for this one but I really enjoyed hunting for treasures I could find on sale, thrifting and in my very own cupboards.

PNW SwapsWhen I got this great package from Kiara of The Buechler Heartbeat I felt like she knew me!

The most surprising thing about my package was that it was actually hand delivered! That’s right! As I sat catching up on some writing, in my Saturday grubbies, there was a knock on my door. Now, this just doesn’t happen very often here in the Northwest. The only unannounced visitors that we usually get around here are people asking if you believe in the afterlife.

(Thank you Kiara for being kind and thoughtful enough to take the time to bring this to me yourself. Seeing your smiling face made my day  – and you were so gracious about the mess that was me under all that bedhead and mismatched warm, comfy clothing!)

Here’s a closer look at the contents of my lovely box.

PNW SwapsThese recycled glass plates are so versatile and will go with any tablescape that I put together!

PNW SwapsI just love Halloween and cannot wait to wear this fun flashing pumpkin necklace next year!

PNW SwapsThe fall colored candle looks really nice set amongst my autumnal decor. And it smells so amazing!

PNW SwapsI have a feeling that this will be a good weekend for a big pot of soup – how did you know that soup is my favorite thing to cook?

PNW SwapsAnd BROWNIES! Just a big – YES! What a cute little cast iron skillet it comes in.

PNW Swaps

Oh my goodness! I have never seen a Toblerone like this before! Where have you been all my life? My sweet side is always tempered with a love of the savory and this bar fits the bill!

Here is my package off to Holly of Mommies with Cents. She is so sweet! Such a touching email she sent me to thank me. Actually that email, really, was the best part of the whole experience – It’s true. The giving is even better than the getting.

PNW SwapsLaura is holding another box swap for us here in the Pacific Northwest just in time for the holidays. I cannot wait to do this again!

If you would like to join in the fun (anyone can participate – as long as you are local) in the next box swap, go and sign up now for the Christmas Swap, here. The dollar limit on this one is $20 and the deadline for mailing your package is December 1st – so don’t wait!

