Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

CarnitasI have some big news to share on the blog today! I am so excited and honored to have been chosen as one of this year’s Allrecipes Allstars!

Over the past several years here on KristinPotPie I have talked about my love for Allrecipes – sharing recipes, my first visit to Allrecipes headquarters (which is located in Seattle – lucky me!), writing a guest post about “stick food” for the Allrecipes Fresh Bites blog for their #RecipeForHappiness campaign celebrating their 15th Anniversary, and my most recent visit (and chance to meet Chef John!) to the headquarters during last year’s International Food Bloggers Conference. Becoming an Allstar is like the icing on the cake for me!

Allrecipes has one of the largest communities of actively engaged home cooks in the world and is one of the most heavily trafficked food and lifestyle sites on the internet – it receives 750 million annual visits from family focused women who connect and inspire one another through shared photos, reviews, videos and blog posts.

In June 2011, Allrecipes.com launched the Allrecipes Allstars—a voluntary brand ambassador program with more than 100 home cooks across the nation. An Allstar is an Allrecipes’ super-fan who is always cooking, rating, and reviewing recipes, posting photos, and telling everyone about it.

allrecipes allstarsAs an Allstar I will receive benefits such as sneak peeks of Allrecipes’ newest features, promotions, and products, the opportunity to provide feedback to Allrecipes and to be part of the team while I engage with other Allstars around the country who love to talk about their passion for the Allrecipes community as much as I do.

It also means promotional items! As Allstars we get to connect with Allrecipes sponsoring brands and share with our readers information and recipes from these supporting companies.

The first brand that I have the pleasure of partnering with as an Allstar is Mazola®. Recently I received a bottle of Mazola Corn Oil in the mail. I was asked to prepare a couple of their sponsored recipes on the Allrecipes website and talk about the importance of Heart-Healthy eating.

MazolaHeart problems run in the women in my family on both sides so I try to stay healthy by exercising (I do need to be better about this!) and by being aware of what I put on my dinner table.

Mazola Corn Oil is cholesterol free and 100% pure with no additives, so the natural flavor of your favorite food comes through. Additionally, new research, sponsored in part by ACH Food Companies, Inc., shows Mazola Corn Oil lowers cholesterol more than extra virgin olive oil. Corn oil lowered LDL cholesterol by 10.9 percent compared to extra virgin olive oil’s 3.5 percent reduction, making corn oil more effective.

You can read more about the study and about the healthy benefits of cooking with Mazola® here.

Sweet & Spicy SalmonNow let’s get cooking!

I used the Mazola Corn Oil to prepare this lovely Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa. It was delicious! Salmon is one of our go-to dishes here in this house – the boys can polish off a two-pound fillet in one evening! – so it is nice to have a new way to prepare it.

I don’t usually go for fruit with my protein (I know, I’m weird that way) but this dish was amazing! The strong flavors of the grapefruit is offset by the sweet hint of brown sugar in the fish rub and the spice level is just right.

Pork CarnitasBut my new favorite recipe is this Pork Carnitas dish sponsored by Mazola®. I just loved the tomatillos in the sauce and it was so easy to make.

The pork is really tender when slow cooked in this way and it really is a versatile dish – just cook up a batch of the meat, choose your tortilla (I generally prefer flour) and use whatever toppings you like. Check out this delicious and healthy recipe here.

I hope you will give these recipes a try and let me know what you and your family think and I cannot wait to share more Allrecipes love with you in the coming months! Stay tuned!

Disclosure: I am an Allrecipes Allstar brand ambassador (a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Products received from Mazola® were only used for experienced-based reviews on KristinPotPie. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are based purely on my own opinions. To learn more about the Allrecipes Allstars program visit, Allrecipes Allstars.

